Eldridge Axial Flux Motor/Generator

Erik952

1 mW
Hey everyone! I found this forum a few days ago and went down the deep rabbit hole of reading a ton of posts about different motors, designs, epoxying and all sorts of fun stuff. I've been working on my motor for about a year now with moderate success. Between my job, my wife and my family, time is a little more scare than I'd prefer.
My background is a degree in mechanical engineering, with a minor in mechatronics. I've spent plenty of time coding Arduino and a lot more time treating engineering like an artform and just messing around. I played Kerbal space program for the longest time (logged like 3k hours) and that really got me into the enjoyment of building things that work just like you've envisioned. I've watched plenty of youtubers who work on these sort of things (I have to shout-out RCtestflight, hyperspace pirate and tom stanton) and I think I'm ready to start working on documenting my own steps of building out my project.

My long-term goal is to create my own motors for a dual motor aircraft/drone. The design of the aircraft is to follow the idea of tilt-rotors, to avoid my personal fear of landing aircraft and to solve the fact that i don't have any good makeshift runways around me. I plan on having several models as I work up to a full-scale model using a home-built turbine for power generation (this is a long shot and it is going to be a lot of fun). The goal there is to have a circuit to build both the ESC and the generator using the same controller board. The current iteration is just to get airborne with two motors and a battery, with a weight less than 5 lbs. This is the long term project and hopefully will explain some of my design choices like no back iron to drop weight.