electric/solar bicycle

oriol

1 mW
Hi there!

I am a recumbent bicycle builder enthusiast. After having build several tricycle protoypes I am considering trying an hybrid electric solar pedal set up. The option of installing an electric solar panel to charge the batteries, to avoid having to depend on the electrical grid, seems feasible and attractive since it will allow me to travel long distances away from urban areas.

Although I have not performed an exhaustive search about solar panels I have enough information to make some preliminary calculations.
I have found a solar panel that weights 18 kg, with a 1,5 m^2 surface that is capable to deliver a maximum output of 250 watts.

Since I am considering to follow the rules scrupulously to avoid any trouble with the authorities.
The maximum speed that I can achieve is 25 km/h (17 mph) and the maximum power I can use is 500 watts.

Given the extra weight that will represent the solar panel + batteries + other extras compared to a conventional bicycle, I am considering using a recycled motorcycle fork and swing arm.
Apart form the poetry of recycling a junkyard motorbike it also allows me to save some bucks in lathe work but forces me to look away from hub bicycle motors.

The rear wheel will be something close to a sandard bicycle 26" wheel.
I understand that this will require an engine that runs to at least 200 rpm aprox to achieve the maximum legal speed, but that can also turn at very low speeds giving the maximum possible output for going uphill if needed.

Is the BAFANG mid motor engine below the most straighforward solution or are there any other better alternative within the same price?
http://www.szbaf.com/en/components/component/motor/mm-g330250.html

Regarding the batteries a local guy who uses a bottom bracket BAFANG told me that someone connected for him multiple cell phone batteries within the shape of his bicycle frame. According to him it was not expensive.