First bike build, consultation needed!

A

Anonymous

Hello everyone!

So, I am a newbie to this scene. I just started to google around about electric bikes and stuff, and after a while got stuck here
reading for days about everything :D

So I am considering building a bike for travelling to school and also further away, maybe 50+ km with battery power only.
As stated above, need for long distances gets me to big and heavy battery packs :D

Enough blahblah, lets get to the business! Below I will list the build I have been thinking about:

- Upgrade Mac kit from em3ev.com, rear hub motor. They state that the upgrade version has composite gears
and upgraded phase wires for the motor.
- Controller would be 9fet with IRFB4110 FETs, because I would like to have 60-72volts battery pack.
- MAC 8T motor, because I won't be climbing steep hills, maybe a few moderate ones, and I want some speed :D
- Battery pack and charger from bmsbattery.com, 72v15ah or 60v20ah.
- CA v2.3 from em3ev.

So to the consultation then :D I would like the bike to have top speed around 40+ km/h. I don't need very torquey motor because the
bike I am putting it into is cruiser/city bike style. Range is also needed for long distance travels, that's why the large Ah pack is needed.

The bike itself looks like this.

It's a pressed steel frame city bike, legendary here in Finland because it's made in Finland quality work :D
24" wheels, which I will be upgrading with 3,2mm spokes and disc brakes front and rear.

Rear and front wheel forks are lousy thin steel tube full of rust and would probably not handle the power of the motor so they will be upgraded by replacing
them with DIY thicker steel tube forks. This part is not yet planned fully ready.

MAC motor would be my choice of weapon due to its lightness and small size, and because power requirement is not very high.
Also it would probably get modified by filling it with oil and replacing original bearings with SKF or FAG ones.