Folding bike DIY help

PandaBear

1 µW
Hello! Newbie here.

I'm planning on converting a folding bike to an ebike. I am 5ft and 100lbs and plan on using the bike to commute to work (11kms) and back. Traveling on road, mostly flat roads.

I've been researching and i would like to get your help/input.
I live in Manila, Philippines. I'm planning to get a 20" Trinx Dolphin 2.0 so I can take it indoors with me.

http://www.trinx.com/index.php?ac=article&at=read&did=1820

I think a 36v 250w rear hub motor kit would be fast enough for me unless anyone has better suggestion.
Can anyone give recommendations for a kit and battery from aliexpress or a store that can deliver to/in the philippines?
Budget preferably under 400usd. Also are there lighter weight kits as i would like to keep the bike weight low.

Thank you 8)

400usd is a no go, battery alone is $400+

Check out www.bmsbattery.com for wimpy low power motors. I'd suggest you go at least 36V25A=900W controller.

Thank you for the website link very helpful.
Is this website safe to buy from?
Why the need for a 900w controller when the hub motor is 250w?
Do you recommend sine wave controllers over normal controllers?

Sorry for the newbie questions! :) :)

6'2" 200 pounds, my eCycle Dash folding bike has not been missed since neighborhood kids took it and tore it up. Horrible seat, common to foldable for some reason. All around too small, also common. Lousy bars too low, common.

250w is a 10 mile an hour bike and the cranks were short and the gearing was too low, if you're buying similar, expect to take an hour to go 6 miles. Although that bigger controller he recommended will help some.

I don't know your chances for finding a comfortable folding bike. I recommend you be sure you won't be hating it a few weeks later.

markz said:
400usd is a no go, battery alone is $400+