Hello Forum

skootaman

1 mW
So i just bought a Velocifero 1600w scooter from ebay, conned is not the word, i tested it out once the battery was reading full charge, managed 11.2mph flat out and lasted less than 1000m, so strip down time noticed all 4 x lead acid batteries were bulging so likely are knackered, multimeter battery reading before ride was 52.6v after 1000m and few minutes battery was showing as depleted and multimeter check showed 48v, looked at dc-dc controller thing nothing fried nor anything fried inside the controller box. i know this isn't definitive proof they are not knackered though.

So i was thinking of going down the hub motor route and buying a complete kit of battery, controller and brushless hub motor, problem is i dont know if they exist that will fit this scooter. i am a welder fabricator so a bit of chopping and welding up wont be a problem to retro fit and maybe even larger wheels,

The scooter has good points mainly being looks, lol, apart from that it's pretty sketchy riding badly designed suspension with cheap crappy parts front end is shockingly bad, whats wrong with conventional suspension forks that are tried and trusted instead of making statement with the design.

The rear wheel alignment is hard to achieve aways looks wonky even when fitted with precise even clearance each side of the rim and no markers for chain adjustment.

The thing weighs more than a sherman tank.

I'm just asking about the aforementioned possible upgrades if anyone has done or knows what will fit it would be a massive help.

Thanks in advance forum members.

Skootaman

"....whats wrong with conventional suspension forks that are tried and trusted instead of making statement with the design."

Because that is what sells product ...... why build what people are less likely to buy?
A favourite quote of mine: 'the hardest part of being a Rube is not knowing your are the Rube."