Help identifying this connector

SRB22

1 mW
Hello,

This is my first post on Endless Sphere! :)

Short version: Attached is a picture of a connector. Does someone know how it is called?

Long version:

This is the headlight connector of a Bulls ebike with Brose motor. I just installed a turn signal indicator kit from velorian.de. The kit is powered from small additional battery, but I would really like to power it from the main battery, although I don't think there's something "officially" available on this bike. I'm considering powering it from the headlight cable, but before cutting and Y-soldering it (if there's such a thing?), I'd like to know if I can find a Y-connector - that would be much easier (I'm not very experienced with soldering).

Thanks for your help!

Attachments

• bulls_headlight_connector.jpg
    bulls_headlight_connector.jpg
    357.1 KB · Views: 289
Most of the light cables from controller systems can only handle a tiny current, a few dozen mA at best, and some are only low-voltage systems (5-6v) rather than full battery voltage. They don't typically state what their limits are, making it hard to guess if anything other than the OEM supplied light will work on it.

Adding anything in parallel to the OEM light is likely to damage things as it is probably only designed for that amount of load.

Even without any original lighting or anythign else already on that connection, it's easily possible to damage the controller system or the display unit for it (depending on where the light circuit is) by connecting a light (or anything else) that has a higher current draw than the system can handle. It may only cause the light output to fail, but if it's not designed fail-safe it may take out the system's voltage regulation and then the system doesn't work at all.

Then:

What voltage does your new light run from?

Is that the same voltage that your system's light output supplies?