Help with first build

flyinbrick

100 mW
Hi, I'm looking to build an e-bike to commute to work and get my workout in at the same time. I'm new to ebikes, but have some electronic and limited bike-building skills. I can solder, know circuits, can wrench but can't weld. I've never welded a battery, but understand I may have to given my budget.

Here is what I'm looking to do:

Donor bike: 90's Trek 920 steel frame with steel forks, 26" wheels, currently setup with 9-speed Shimano MTB gearset
Weight: 165 lbs bike + rider
Distance: 18.5 miles one-way, mostly flat, mostly on a bike trail with little stopping. I can re-charge in my office.
Speed: 30 mph minimum with pedaling
Budget: $600
Front/Rear: not sure. Front hub will give me better weight distribution but will probably need a torque arm. Rear hub: I questions the quality of the cassette that comes with the hub. Either way, I'm guessing I'll need a larger front chainring, right?

So, yeah, my budget is pretty low but that's what I have to work with. I'm pretty sure I'm going to have to buy from eBay and perhaps repair/replace stuff as needed.

I figure that I will need a 48v/1000w system with a 15ah to 20ah battery.

What I have in mind:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/48V-1000W-E...896?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item339dcf9fe8
Anyone know what kind of motor this is? This seems to be the most common type on eBay at this voltage/wattage.
There is another type such as in this kit:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/48V1000W26-Front-Wheel-Electric-Bicycle-Motor-Kit-E-Bike-Cycling-Hub-Conversion-/291308554392?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item43d357c898

I'm also open to a geared 48V hub like the Q100/Q128 low-turn, high RPM models. Keeping in mind that I want to pedal, will this get me to 30 mph?

As for battery, what AH will I need? I'm eyeing something like this:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/48v-15ah-LiFePO4-Battery-5A-Charger-BMS-E-bike-Kits-Powerful-Rechargeable-8Weeks-/141504683565?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item20f2561e2d