I guess I need to make 72v 35ah battery pack

I've been trying to buy one, but when I describe what I need I never hear from the builders again. I guess I'm going to have to make my own. I have no experience building battery packs so I expect to need a lot of help. I'm going to need to buy everything I need, spot welder, supplies, battery cells. I have a good soldering iron thanks to Amberwolf.

I plan to use Samsung 50S, 25 amp drain cells 20s 7p. I don't expect ever running over 100 amps, but I'd like to have a 120 amp capable BMS running at less than full capacity for longevity. Please recommend a good spot welder, and BMS.

This is a BMS I found, but I'm not sure It's what I need. I might end up running the BMS external of the pack to save space. I have a cavity in my frame just above the battery where the BMS can go. Can anyone explain the difference between common port, and a separate port BMS, and which one is better for me??

Last edited:
Common port, charging and discharging are done on the same port on the BMS. Separate port, there are two ports, one for charging, one for discharging.

Situations when common port is best include using regen and when parallel connecting two batteries as this allows the BMS to still be able to shut itself off if overcharged. Whereas with a separate port bms, regen current and current from another battery pack that is coming in through the discharge port cannot be shut off even if the pack is overcharged potentially causing a dangerous situation.

Separate port is only really a thing because it's cheaper I believe, if anyone knows more reasons please correct me.