I'm a noob and I wanna go sensible speeds reliably

headwind

10 W
Hi Endless Sphere,

Preaching to the converted
I recently borrowed an e-bike and, wow, you folks sure are onto something! It is the best form of transport I have ever used, quicker and cheaper than public transport. And, around the inner city, it is actually quicker than a car. Incredible!

So now I ask for your help to get one for myself...

Usage
- maximum speed 40 km/h edit 30/3: for bursts only, cruising speed slower and with pedal assist
- range of 50km assisted (I pedal at a comfortable non-sweaty level, while the motor does the hard work. My typical consumption is 12 Whr/km) edit 30/3: my regular commute is a 25km round trip, but I'd like more range for other trips
- road usage and some gravel bike paths, but no off-road mud-bashing
- good resistance against punctures and bent rims (I have been getting a lot of flats on my road bike which has been very frustrating)
- wet weather friendly
- battery needs to be charged separate to the bike, since I don't have a powerpoint where the bike is stored
- doesn't look like an e-bike to the average driver

Many thanks to kabbage for the "test rides" of his setup, it is a wonderful machine. Some changes I'd like for my e-bike are less tail-heavy handling, faster when human powered and ease of battery removal. I think lighter batteries mounted within the triangle will go a long way regarding the first two points.

Current plans
edit 30/3: Base bike will be a lightweight hybrid or mountain bike. Old text below:
Mountain bikes generally don't float my boat (extra weight, also I prefer the feel without suspension). Ideally, I'd convert a flat bar road bike like my Apollo Fiamme, but for starters the wide tyres won't fit. So I'm leaning towards a hybrid frame, unless I can find a lightweight and suspension-less MTB for cheap.