I'm a noob and I want to go 25-30mph (friction drive)

20-MPH is the legal limit for selling street E-bikes to the public, and I was investigating possible interest from the local college students.

If you want to go faster, you can use a higher Kv of motor, use a roller with a larger diameter, raise the volts, or some combination of those three.

You've stated that the only hill on your commute is short, but it's very steep. 37V climbs much easier than 22V, smaller roller climbs better than a bigger one.

spinningmagnets said:
20-MPH is the legal limit for selling street E-bikes to the public, and I was investigating possible interest from the local college students.

If you want to go faster, you can use a higher Kv of motor, use a roller with a larger diameter, raise the volts, or some combination of those three.

You've stated that the only hill on your commute is short, but it's very steep. 37V climbs much easier than 22V, smaller roller climbs better than a bigger one.
Ah okay, are you looking to start a business ? where I'm at I'm surprised e-bikes aren't more popular, during the summer there's so many bikes it's ridiculous!

Yeah, again I'm not worried about that hill, I'm not gonna go through any extra trouble or expenses to climb a hill that'll take me a minute or two to push the bike up, plus it's good for my butt muscles since I won't be using them for pedaling :p.

I will make a list of components and run it by you before ordering anything (I'm hoping ordering in bunches will help with shipping costs since with amazon it does but this is gonna be hobbyking and other stores so we'll see).

Thanks for your help!

Are you looking to use the shell of the motor, or have the motor drive a separate roller? I have the stuff to make rollers with one-way clutch bearings that are one-inch, 1-1/4, and 1-1/2 inch in diameter.