Kona Electric Ute Issue: Fix or Sell?

Hey everyone,

I am new to e-bikes and new to the board...a big thanks for all the great information I've been able to track down thus far.

Here's my situation: I recently purchased a 2011 Kona Electric Ute off of Craigslist (http://2011.konaworld.com/bike.cfm?content=electric_ute). I wasn't actually looking for the electric model, but the deal was about the same price as what I was finding on the non-electric model. I found/bought the bike in Portland and pulled the trigger on it after spending the day riding it and having a blast carting my daughter around on the longtail/stoker bar set-up. The bike performed without any issues and I quickly discovered why all of you are so enthusiastic about e-bikes. I absolutely get the love-affair with 'em.

However, after hauling it home to Seattle, I've started to have a serious technical issue--the electric assist sporadically cuts out and then starts with a pretty terrible grinding/vibration, before cutting off completely. At first it was happening only after steep hills, now it's happening just about 10-15 minutes into any ride. I made a video today and was able to capture the issue better than I can describe it:

http://youtu.be/K45mWQdp8h4

It's not the greatest video out there, but there's clearly an issue with the bike. I've been in contact with Kona directly and they initially thought it might be a battery issue--I don't know much about ebikes, but this really doesn't feel like a battery issue...it feels like a motor issue. I am waiting to hear back from their tech support on Monday (so far, they've been great in responding and trying to troubleshoot).

So, I guess I've got a few questions:

-Can anyone on the board help with a diagnosis and a fix?
-Is it worth fixing?
-Or, is it worth selling to someone who will love this bike and know how to deal with it?