Need guidance on what motor to get

Revbikes

10 mW
Hello everyone! First time poster here. I have never built an ebike before and I have been looking to convert my old bike that I haven't used for a while into an electric bike. I was primarily looking at the Bafang BBS02 mid drive motor from lunacycle. With the motor and the battery (48v 11.5ah Panasonic cells) it comes down to about $1,100. I had been researching about the BBS02, it's benefits and drawbacks.

But I wanted to get some second thoughts from everyone else who has experience with this.

What I'm looking for:
Desired max speed on level ground: 20mph (Legal speed limit)
Desired max range: 52 miles going at 15-20mph. (I will be using this to commute to and from work. It will be 26 miles to get there and I can charge it while I'm there but if possible I'd like it to be round trip but no big deal)
Preferred bike: Since I am converting my old bike which is a Raleigh Detour 3.5 (I don't know what year model and it's been hard to find any specifics online) the wheels are 700c I believe.
Brake type: I would prefer disc brakes but for now I will keep it as a normal V brakes.
Rider weight: ~162 lbs.
Terrain: Mostly flat, urban environment, city commuting with some small hills here and there.
Budget: For right now it will be $1100 or less. Can upgrade smaller parts in the future.

Extra info:

I do currently own a factory built ebike right now. The one I have is the http://www.walmart.com/ip/Cyclamati...-Mountain-Bike-Lithium-Battery-Black/44664817 The reasons I am wanting to upgrade is for several reasons.
1.) The ebike I currently own seems slightly underpowered.
2.) I would like to build my own ebike for the fun and learning experience.
3.) With the BBS02 I think I can reduce the overall weight of the bike.
4.) Changing flats will be MUCH easier if I go with the BBS02 compared to the rear hub on my current one.
5.) UI systems are much nicer than current one. (Battery indicator, UI display, etc.)