Need help for using N-Mosfets to switch on either one battery or the other

kilou

10 W
Hi,

I'd like to add a second battery (36V Li-ion) to my ebike to increase its range. My goal is to use one battery at a time, not using both in parallel with e.g. ideal diodes or something. I'd like to keep it as simple and as safe as possible and just use a 2 way switch to choose which battery the motor will pull current from. My 36V ebike motor draws about 20-25 A max so I figured out it would be best to use 2 N-channel mosfets to control which battery is being used. The N channel mosfets I plan to use are rated for 80V, 150 A and have a resistance from drain to source (RDS) of only about 3 milliohms (see https://www.mouser.ch/datasheet/2/427/sup60020e-1595623.pdf). This means at 25A the mosfet will dissipate 1.875 W. This should be okay without heat sink because the mosfet can be used without heatsink up to 3.5 W at an ambient temperature of 35°C.

I'm a noob in electricity/electronics so I tried to educate myself about mosfets and came up with the following circuit:

34zQCPb.png

The idea is that when the switch in the center of the diagram is in the I position, battery 1 will power the motor. on the other hand, when the switch is in the II position, battery 2 will power the motor. However battery 1 will always be on the bike so it would be used to control the gate on the mosfets. The two resistors R1 and R2 are used as a voltage divider in order to drop the input voltage of battery 1 from 36V down to about 10 V in order to power the gate of the 2 mosfets since these mosfets have a max voltage from gate to source (VGS) of 20 V.

Now I have a few questions about this circuit: