• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

newbie controller questions

centrinoblue

100 µW
Hello all, I am new to the whole ebike thing and have learned a lot from reading this forum since jumping in with my own conversion a week ago or so.

Life was great for a couple of days but I was out for a ride when suddenly the throttle stopped responding. The Cycle Analyst still had a read out and the controller LED lite was lit but even after checking that all the connections were solid still nothing. It is an eZee conversion kit from ebikes.ca and they were gracious enough to replace the throttle assembly but still nothing.Very similar to the issue on this thread.

Now I'm stuck as I'm no electronics wizard (but a quick study) and I can't find any troubleshooting guides for the eZee controller. I opened it up to see if I could use some other troubleshooting guides to help but it is a bit of a birds nest inside:
4798146898_df961074a5.jpg

My guess is that something 'broke' in the controller (I don't see any burnt wires or smell any indications that something blew).

Here are my questions:
a) does this sound like a controller issue?
b) what controller would you recommend to replace this one? I would like to find something robust that lends itself to servicing/maintenance, and is suitable for my motor/battery setup.

The current controller specs:
- eZee controller
- Max Volt: 60V
- Min Volt: 20V
- Current Limit: 20A

Motor specs:
- eZee gear drive rear hub
- Power at 36V: 400W
- Power at 48V: 550W

Battery:
- 48V 8Ah Samsung

ebikes carries a line of Infineon controllers:
- 20A brushless controller with 6xAOT460
- 25A brushless controller with 6xIRLB4030 mosfets
- 35A brushless controller with 12xAOT460 mosfet
- 40A brushless controller with 12xIRFB4110 mosfet

Could I use any of the above or are there some that are more/less suitable for my motor/battery setup?