Planning my first E-motorcycle conversion

ajhyp

1 µW
Hi guys a total newb here.
Been trying to wrap my head around this and only figuring out I should’ve stayed in school :)
Here comes a bunch of questions and possibly more.

I have a Honda 125cc sitting back home.
Planning to electrify the thing when I get back.

Going to stay on the road.
Top speed: 130km/h
Distance at 60km/h: 80km+

Motor: QS 273 8kw hub
Controller: Kelly 96501-8080H: 200A C, 500A P
Battery: 72V? 96V?
Rim: 18” motorcycle
Apprx weight with rider: 210kg+-

Q1: Is a 273 motor suitable for this kind of build?
Q2: How much torque would it be running at 200A? Would 400A max be ’torquey’ enough?
Q3: Is there a similar power controller with a smaller profile?
Q4: What Battery spec should I aim for? (I’m heavy on the throttle)
Q5: Would I benefit from a 96V system instead of a 72V? In terms of acceleration/speed?

Any tips/suggestions or directions to helpful resources would be very much appreciated.
Thanks and keep on inspiring me!!

ajhyp said:
Hi guys a total newb here.
Been trying to wrap my head around this and only figuring out I should’ve stayed in school :)
First, I highly recommend reading as many of hte threads as you can for all the other scooter and motorcycle conversions (finished or not) here on this subforum. They will give you an idea of what problems you may run into, and what kind of power requirements there are for your specific situation and riding style/needs.

While it may seem like a lot of reading, it's going to show you a bunch of things you probably haven't even thought of yet.

You also need to check with your local legal codes, because in some places, you may not be able to get this road legal, or at least it may require a lot of hoops, paperwork, time, and money. :(

Some thoughts on battery size (not type or capability, just capacity and physical size/weight).

Top speed: 130km/h
Distance at 60km/h: 80km+