Sabvoton 7280 regen brake throttle question

RIGeek

1 µW
I recently got a Sabvoton 7280 controller and noticed that there is a few missing connections and wondering if I can just solder in the missing wires. One of those options would be the 'brake throttle' option. I do plan to visit some mountains with this bike, have a LiFePO4 pack that can accept up to 50A charge current so I figure, make use of it.

The other option that I do not see is the 3-speed/boot button. I am very new to the e-bike world so I'm unsure if that was just installed because I have an LCD display with that option or not.

Thanks all.

Depends on whether the model you have normally supports those functions, and then if the firmware and hardware installed inside the version you have also supports them.

Most likely you'll have to simply try it and see if it works, unless you can get Siaecosys (or whoever made your version of Sabvoton) to look up your specific model and version and firmware version and tell you if it works as desired. If you're not sure which pads to solder to, that is also a guessing game unless you run across pictures of internals of that model / version that show what you need (I didn't see one in a quick search of this forum, but a detailed search might turn one up).

Regarding the charge current...does the battery's BMS have a common charge/discharge port? Or separate ports? If they're separate, then you'd be using the discharge port for regen braking charging, and it would be uncontrolled (meaning if something went wrong inside the pack the BMS could not disconnect it from the controller and prevent problems).