• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

Small A123 12s1p battery pack

jerrysimon

10 W
For the last two years on my ebike i.e. 2500 miles, 500 charge cycles I have been using the pack shown below. Its a 10.5 mile round commute and I can always carry a second battery if I need to go further.

4272164656_dca730dfc2_o.jpg

As a novice I constructed it simply myself from single cells building two 6s1p packs connected in series and protected with a 15 amp fuse. I did include balancing leads as well. I had previously used Lipos in my RC hobby before but wanted to use LiFeP04 A123 cells for worry free unattended charging at home and work.

The pack was contructed and balanced initially using a Turnigy charger/balancer, but for the best part of two years has just been bulk charged with a generic 36v, 1.6amp SLA charger and not balanced. I have a Celllog which I used to watch each 6s1p pack the first few months but stopped using it after the cells remained very well balanced. I tended to charge it at work and after the return journey when I got home. It has pretty much been used every working day for the last two years and has been very much a charge and forget pack. It was really done as a test to see if these cells needed balancing. Anyway in the last few weeks I have had to change two cells that died one from each 6s1p pack. It now seems to be running fine again. I think given it cost me £60 to make and the way I have used it, it has done remarkably well ? I have another newer pack which my daughter has been using and I tend to now balance that every couple of months or so. It will be intersting to see how it compares.