Which kit to fit to a touring bike?

I actually still have a 1971 VW, mainly drive it on special occasions, too many Monster Trucks out on the highway so I rarely take it out on the open road. For that purpose I have a Volvo with much better crash protection.

TwoWheeling said:
Hello!...I'm looking to fit a kit to assist my daily commute and for primarily hill help on longer distance tours. The trip to work and back is about 20 miles with a few burning climbs (~10% so not actually that bad). Assistance would be mostly on the hills but also generally just to speed up the journey....I'm edging toward hub motor over mid-drive since it seems to fit my requirements (moderate hills and limited assistance) and from what I understand mid-drive is not a common retrofit......I'm an engineer by profession so fairly mechanically minded and should be able to fit and wire up the kit myself.

Different strokes for different folks as they say. What's best for you is dependent on multiple factors which bear a little thought. You have a high quality touring bike you obviously like and are familiar with. I assume that it probably has good quality wheels you might like to preserve. And it also sounds as though your current, injury-related limitations may diminish in the future.

It sounds to me as though you might value:
- a speedy, easy conversion
- reliability, water resistance and general 'neatness'
- longer battery range
- 'pedelec' in addition to (or as opposed to) throttle assistance
- easy conversion back to non-assisted mode
- mature technology & build quality
- a high level of service and support (you mention being a 'newbie' etc).

I would recommend that you purchase a kit based on the Bafang/8FUN BBS-02 mid-drive, possibly with a better quality after-market chainring or 'spider' chainring converter.