Battery questions

x88x

10 kW
Hey all, I've been lurking for a while but I'm running into a wall so I figured it's time to join in. :D

I'm fairly new to the EV scene, but I've got a lot of ideas and I'm going to be starting work on a few of them over the next couple months. My current mid-range goal is an electric motorcycle, but I'm going to be starting with an e-bike and a couple little electric scooters I picked up cheap to figure out what I'm doing before I get into the serious money that the motorcycle is going to require...especially since I plan to make my own BLDC motors for all of them.

So, anyways, point of all that for this thread is that I'm trying to decide what batteries I should start with. I want to be able to pull a lot of low-end torque out of the motor(s) I'll make, so I want a high C discharge rating on the batteries. I was pretty well set on using A123 18650 cells, but yesterday and today I found some things that are confusing the matter for me. Before that though, the reason why I was set on 18650's instead of 26650's (at least for the first stage of projects) is because in the looking I've done on eBay, if I buy in bulk I can get the 18650's for as little as $2.20 each, whereas the 26650's seem to bottom out at around $8.20 each. Granted, I would have to run two 18650's in parallel to match a single 26650, but the cost difference is just too high when space isn't as pressing an issue.