Building 8s LiFePo4 pack, need advice.

puddleglum

100 mW
This is my first attempt at this so I hope you guys will be patient with me asking questions that have probably been answered here already. I've bought a stand up scooter that I want to convert to a folding mobility scooter. I want to go LiFe as it seems to have the longest cycle life. I'm restricted by the size of the battery box ( 9.3"x6"x3") I can maybe gain another .5" on the height if needed, but can't go wider so I think the pouch cells are out. I'm thinking 10-12Ah, 3C max. load and 1-2C continuous. Headways look like they would fit. I found some packs on ebay with 18650 cells that would fit also, but am I asking for trouble going that route? Is there another better option, or are either one of the above the way to go? Can you fold the edges of A123 pouch cells to make them narrower? Is it better to go with a BMS and bulk charge or could I use a balancing charger and hook up a Cellog8 to monitor the pack? I know there are pros and cons and this has been the subject of much debate. I've been trying to read through some of it but I get more confused. Which is safer, most economical, most reliable, easiest? Your help would be appreciated.

do not fold the pouch cells, do not bend the edges, they need to be held flat in compression with plates and banding. don't mash the edges of the pouches either since all that just causes the separator and electrodes to be distorted out of the tight fit they need.

the cylindrical cells like the headways hold the separator and electrodes in compression so they last longer than the pouch cells.

you can buy a 8S signalab BMS from mr ping, and the charger too.

Are you saying to go with Headway batteries and a Ping BMS and Charger? Are the Ping packs 18650 cells? I passed them over as an option because they are too tall? Anyone know if the Headway DIY kits are any good?