• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

Crystalyte help

tomv

100 W
Hi,

I'm an electric bike newbie and just finished installing Crystalyte 408 kit on my bike. Works great and I can't get enough of it!

But now I have a bunch of questions and I hope you guys can help me out. I can't find answers to anywhere

- I'd like to build 48V battery. It would let me go faster and it looks like motor efficiency is higher at 48V then my current 36V. The question is what else do I have to change besides my battery? I know the motor can handle 48V. Do I have to buy a new controller? How about the throttle? Both controller and throttle are marked 36V on my kit. Controller is 20A.

- Can anyone recommend decent 36-48V Nimh charger? I only found $300 fancy multichannel variable voltage chargers, but I'd rather buy something simple and inexpensive.

Thank!

Yes, the trottle has three LED lights - power and battery high/low. It's ok if low never lights up because battery will always stay above the level that's low for 36V. I'm only concerned that throttle works and that I don't burn out anything.

I guess low voltage cutoff would be a bit of an issue too. 36V controller cuts off power at 20V (I think). That would be overdischarging for a 48V pack. For this reason I'm thinking to get a separate metter like Watts up or similar.

A 36v controller custs out at 29v.

So yes. you controller will not cut out at 40v like it should using a 48v pack but that's ok. monitor it manually.. you know how far you can go on a charge after a few rides, and it's as simple as " Stop using throttle when the battery power is no longer there.. "

You can remove the LED wire from the conector and use it as a regular throttle at 48v. Or get a non-Led throttle, they are fairly cheap.

Very good idea on the Monitor. watts'up or Cycle Analyst meters are a great thing !!!