First Build/Conversion, Double Check Me?

akrenits

10 mW
Hi ES,
Been lurking for a while and it's time for me to start my first build. I am planning on ordering parts this weekend, so any thoughts that save me time, money, and failure are greatly appreciated. I am new to all of this, so pointing out flaws and explaining alternatives would be great. I know most of you would caution me about going full suspension for my first build, however this is the only bike I own and I need it for next school year. I have questions for each part listed and also a few at the end. Thanks so much everyone! Looking forward to contributing to ES in the future.

Before we begin, I'm pretty well stuck on having a middrive, unless you really believe a hub will get me up long, near unclimbable steep slopes without overheating. Even so, please tell me where I have compatibility issues with my parts below:

About Me
- My Weight: 160lbs
- My Bike: 26" Full Suspension, GT XCR2000, Approx 25lbs
- First Year Mechanical Engineering Student
- Live in California, but not worried about legalities ("Off Road Use Only" is what we call it around here right?)
- Pretty good machining ability/access

Goals: Going to be using it as a commuter, as well as a steep incline off-roader
- Top Speed at least 35mph
- Mountain Climbing at least 5mph
- Range at least 15 miles on relatively flat ground, without pedaling
- Optional: Cruise Control
- Classicly, Cheap as possible!
- Not too worried about weight/bulk, I plan on building custom mounts for everything.

To my understanding, the most efficient way to achieve what is essentially a lightweight dirtbike is to go Mid-Drive and run it through a freewheel front crank to take advantage of the bike's own gearing. That would also not interfere with my suspension. Don't really like the Hub Motor shenanigans: seems a bit hard to service, less torque, my dropouts won't fit the power I'm looking for.