First Build! Question about Controller Programming

JoeReal

10 mW
Hey Guys, I am starting my first electric Bike build!

The donor bike is a Kawasaki EX500 Ninja, I plan on turning into a Cafe Racer style after I get it running :)

I am planning out my components now:

Probably going with-
Motor
Montenergy me1003
Controller
Alltrax AXE7245
Batteries
Lead acid to start (Since I am an poor Engineering Student and not yet an Engineer)
Then most likely LiFeP04
(any suggestions for cost effective batteries would be greatly appreciated, Ive been, and will continue to, scour the Wikis and the forums)

Here is my main question that will dictate what controller I go with-
I would like to be able to change the controller's setting from the bike, without a laptop.
My plan is to, if at all possible, use an Arduino to change the settings between, lets say, 3 or 4 different preset setting, like-
Setting 1- Max Output @ 50, throttle up @ 5...
Setting 2- Max Output @ 75, throttle up @ 10...
Etc
Is this even possible?

Thanks for the help guys!
Joe

JoeReal said:
Hey Guys, I am starting my first electric Bike build!

The donor bike is a Kawasaki EX500 Ninja, I plan on turning into a Cafe Racer style after I get it running :)

I am planning out my components now:

Probably going with-
Motor
Montenergy me1003
Controller
Alltrax AXE7245
Batteries
Lead acid to start (Since I am an poor Engineering Student and not yet an Engineer)
Then most likely LiFeP04
(any suggestions for cost effective batteries would be greatly appreciated, Ive been, and will continue to, scour the Wikis and the forums)

Here is my main question that will dictate what controller I go with-
I would like to be able to change the controller's setting from the bike, without a laptop.
My plan is to, if at all possible, use an Arduino to change the settings between, lets say, 3 or 4 different preset setting, like-
Setting 1- Max Output @ 50, throttle up @ 5...
Setting 2- Max Output @ 75, throttle up @ 10...
Etc