How to test if problem is battery or controller?

ikeonabike

10 µW
Hello-

I've read tons of posts on ES while preparing to build my first ebike, but this is my first time posting.

I'm building my first electric bike from a 48V 1000W rear hub motor I picked up on ebay and a 48V 18ah (5-parallel, 13-series) battery I picked up on Aliexpress. I believe I have hooked everything up correctly, but I'm getting no juice. Nothing happens when I turn the throttle, and nothing shows up on the LCD screen.

I thought the problem might be the crappy crimped bullet connectors that came with the controller, so I replaced them with soldered XT60 plugs. Didn't help.

I have tested the battery with a multimeter and fully charged it shows 53.9, which is slightly lower than the company's claimed charge cutoff voltage of 54.6. I don't know if that means something is actually wrong with the battery.

How do I figure out if the battery or the controller is the problem? The battery company says it's probably the controller and the motor company says it's probably the battery.

Thanks!

What's the voltage of the battery when it's connected to the controller?

Sounds like maybe the battery just needs to be charged. Try to measure the voltage with the controller connected and turned on.

When I connected the battery to the controller and tested the connection with the multimeter I got the same reading as when I checked the battery straight off the charger after being left charging all weekend: 53.9

Does the fact that the battery does not charge all the way to 54.6 mean that it's a dud?

Thanks!

~isaac

I figure you have the polarity of the battery connector correct or bad stuff would have happened. The 53.9 volts would have me thinking, but I'd first make sure my meter is correct. However controller would power up at 44 volts, so you should look at that.