my electric vehicle project so far advise would be nice

hello all its my first time post so i hope ive got this in the right place :D ,

well ive been using electric vehicles for a few years now and ive been enjoying every minute of it so i thought id try and build/customize my own now i dont have welding equipment nor do i have alot of space but ive done a few years of mechanics and electrics at college so ive got a fair idea on the basics with that in hind sight im not thinking of going down the complete custom route like building a frame as ive learnt alot about EV's in the last few years of using them that its not as simple as it seems even when you think you've worked everything out :lol: , so i wanted to find people who've had experience in building and customizing EV's and that's brought me here so ill just show what ive used, what im using now and my ideas of what id like to build to see if anyone's got any ideas on what motor to use, controller etc

my first EV a sit on scooter which i bought for a fiver as it didnt have a charger and the batterys were dead from a charity shop =)

2012-05-23173314_zps06800e51.jpg

2012-05-23173259_zps5c9d7b3a.jpg

i put on the voltmeter on it myself as it was spare, i didnt have an ammeter and was doing this on a budget
from what i could find out its a very old chinese made kids scooter mine had a 190watt motor which did 8mph max ( thats with pushing lol ) and two 12volt SLA batterys
which the batterys i replaced for 50 quid form ebay and after a few months the motor grinded to a halt half way down a hill which was lovely :roll:
so i replaced that with a 290watt motor i used this for a few more months then wanted something a little more faster so i could actually use it on the road without being dangerous :lol:

so i got this from ebay its a evo powerboard x1000

2012-04-20235536_zps437b86ac.jpg

2012-04-20235616_zps2de50d9c.jpg

disc brakes front and back and suspension

2012-04-20235924_zpse12712d2.jpg