My Finished 72V (88.8V) 50A Highly Modified Electric Scooter

eganwp

10 mW
Hi guys,

So bear with me as I'm new to the whole e-bike show, but I'm not new to electronics or LiPo/A123/LiFe, etc. work as I fly giant scale RC planes and much of which I build electric setups.

So here's my quesiton I'm needing your expertise on. Looking to mod my newly purchased 2011 Gimelli E-Sport scooter/moped w/ pedals for more speed and torque. The guy I purchased it from says it does 70kph ungoverend with the stock SLA 48V 20Ah setup, though I find that hard to believe but haven't ridden it yet as the stock 48V SLA packs are toast. The controller is a MTL Brainpower Motor Controller (48V, 120 degree angle, 33A current limit, 42V +-0.5 low volt, brake 12V). Haven't taken a pic of the motor, but I'm guessing its a 500W motor, not sure on kv though.

So I'd like to hit this bike up with my own LiPo setup as I can do it for a lot cheaper than A123. I'm thinking 66.6V (75.6V full charge), 10Ah, using 6x 6s1p 5000mah LiPo's. Or I could even go down to 6x 5s packs, or 4x 8s packs even. Just not sure what is the best way to go as the cell count is optional, but what controller/setup is common that would suit eachother nicely?

Assuming I need a new controller (or maybe I don't?), what controller or brand do you recommend? I know I should find something with reasonable cutoff voltage at 3.5-3.6V/cell but I may just use a meter. What brands or sites do you guys recommend here? Or maybe you'd recommend a new motor/controller/pack combo that would suit my needs? Not sure if 20A or 50A+ is what would make me happy, or what those stock motor windings can handle. Doesn't need to be insanity, but if I could do 60kph with ease and moderate torque, I'd be set. 30km minimum range.

Thanks for any help I can get guys!