New ebiker/ebike: Battery help please! (update 10/18)

Johnny_Z

10 mW
Hey all,

I have spent the last few days and have about 80 tabs open to various sites here and there all trying to figure out how to build an ebike, and still feel woefully uninformed. Really the problem is there is tons of info that I can't really process because I don't know very much to begin with here. Perhaps you guys can help me.

A little about me:

28 years old, 6' 1" and 175 lbs. I live in Southern California and currently have a 30 mile commute-one way. 60 miles round trip. Previously I worked 7.5 miles from work and was able to road bike it every day, so I'm not a total newb on the road. I know all the laws, I know the courtesies, and I know of the dangers of biking in general.

What I would like in an ebike:

*60 mile range. If this is not possible, 40 would be workable, I'll just have to speak with the boss about charging my bike which shouldn't be a problem. I would just like that extra range. I also am not too interested in pedaling at all, seeing as I work 10-12 hours a day as a warehouse picker. However I would like the ability to maintain my ability to pedal when the motor's not on! And pedal assist might be nice, but I'm not harping on that.

*As street legal as possible. I'm not too interested in going 50 mph. That would be exhilarating for my NEXT build though. :) Current CA law states 1000 watt motor, 20 mph max.

*Long lasting battery (charge cycles).

*Triangle battery pack mounted preferred

*Rear hub motor preferred

*Most importantly it has to be reliable. I am hoping to sell my truck if all goes well.

My questions:

Do I really need front suspension?
Do I really need disc brakes?
Do I really need a steel frame?