Rear hub motor noise. Truckrun.

griffinator

100 µW
Hello, I'm pretty new to the ebike world but have been a mechanic my whole life. I have a new victrip titan 1month old. The motor has started making a grinding noise when I get to faster speeds and under loads. (Flipped it over and ran with no noise).thought it was bearings but seems unlikely . After reading another of posts I'm starting to think it may be a wiring problem. When riding a few weeks ago, throttle quit responding and had to jiggle wires up by controller to get working. Is it possible that my controller wires would cause grinding sound? Attached some pics and video I took for warranty claim which has been denied because you can't really hear noise in video.

Attachments

• 20231125_130554.jpg
    20231125_130554.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 7
  • 20231125_130100_resized.jpg
    20231125_130100_resized.jpg
    868.9 KB · Views: 7
What specifically happened just before the initial problem? What specifically fixed it?

What specifically happened just before this one?

Knowing those might help determine the problem.

Regarding noises, the three most common are that gears in geared hubmotors can be damaged by impacts, overheating, overtorque, etc., and the hall signals in sensored systems can fail for several reasons (wiring faults, overheating, water damage, etc), which can cause a motor to run rough from not being driven correctly, and a phase wire connection between motor and controller can be faulty, high resistance, so the motor will run rough as it's not being driven fully.

There could be other reasons, such as corrosion from water damage in either motor or controller or connections, etcs.

So knowing what happened could narrow down the possibilities.