Wheel building for hub motors.

the 175x2mm spokes arrived yesterday, i measured them at 175mm on my rule by hanging the j off the zero mark of the rule.

spent a productive 75minutes lacing the wheel in one easy go.. (the spoke as an insertion tool tip- pure genius- ;) )

P1010821.JPGhaving a sit n sup atm Sunday afternoon etc... and will try to true the wheel in the up ended frame using cable tie markers later, Not for use but to check a) my ability, and b) the length if any of spoke protruding from the nipple end or laving mms of thread when taught. as to properly size the 14g spokes ..

Attachments

• P1010820.JPG
    P1010820.JPG
    5.9 MB · Views: 6
I am a newbie 2 months in and change, though no stranger to two wheels, a year of arduous commuting mid 90's put me off 2 wheel transport for a while, but a noname el cheapo cycle is generally at hand for local light shopping trips and summer visits to riverside pubs. bdlc motors and lithium batteries are familiar to me from dabbling with rc though these days i just lurk on forums and watch vids..

The above wheel is part of a bundle dropped off by a pal wanting to free some room in his own yard of residue left behind by sons who have left home.. I mentioned my 'new' ebike and it was 'oh u like ebikes u want some??'

I converted my 'daily ride' cycle after pondering too long on trips of a certain distance, not being as young or quite as active as i have been I was considering alternatives when i should have been cycling.. so the ebike conversion of my step through shopping bike took place..
So thats ebike #1, in need of new brake blocks for the first time in 4 years, see how the brake block residue has stained my nice cream coloured tyres.