Advice regarding 'do-it all' ebike

vnlj

100 µW
I have recently caught onto the idea of converting my Trek DS (8.3 DS, 2015ish, 700c) into an ebike. I have no prior experience with DIY-ebiking but consider myself technical competent and somewhat handy. I have read rigourosly on various ebike sites and concluded that I will be well served with some adviced from you guys here at Endless-sphere.

First and foremost I intend to use the bike as a commuter on a more or less daily basis. The terrain here is pretty varied. I'll be travelling paved and brick-laid road, some gravel. On my commute there are a couple of short steep hills and some low grade ones as well. But I imagine using the bike more once its an electric, so I would like it to be able to handle more ‘heat-challenging’ routes. Keep in mind my knowledge of what type of terrain and usage demand what kind of setup is most limited. I enjoy biking and have no problem doing so without any assistant on my (usually) very short commutes. But I would like to go a bit faster and do so without building up a sweat. I am pretty lightweight (150 pounds), my bike - not so much. It’s not MTB-heavy but not exactly roadster-light. Ebikes are common here and under EU-restrictions. And I live in the city, so the bike should not draw attention. Needless to say, I won’t be swoosh-ing the streets at 40kph. However, I appriciate having the opportunity to go at an enjoyable (that is, high) speed if an affordable and discreet setup allows me to. I don’t intend to spend an awful amount (partly because of sky-high import taxes), but I am willing to stretch it relative to the following setup of which I am temporarily settled on.

- Bafang SWXH: http://www.greenbikekit.com/bafang-swxh-bldc-hub-engines.html
- S06S Torque Simulation Sine Wave Controller (max 15A? Not sure I understand controller-ratings and their implications): https://bmsbattery.com/ebike-kit/546-s06s-250w-torque-simulation-sine-wave-controller-ebike-kit.html