Universal E-bike repair solution

Re-E-cycle

1 µW
Dear users of this forum,

My name is Matthijs Rombout and I am a bicycle mechanic from the Netherlands.
I have a problem with electric bicycle repairs and I hope you can help me with the solution.

problem:
I get a lot of people in the shop with old electric bicycles that do not work anymore. They are quite desperate because every other bicycle shop has already told them they cannot repair their e-bike because it is to old.
The problem is that the original manufacturers stop selling parts for these older bicycles and people are not willing to invest in old electronics if another (unreplaceable/ hard to find) component might brake down in the near future. The bicycles themselves are often in great shape and can last several more years, but the electronics are old and need to be replaced.

Solution?
New universal electronics. This set will consist of: controller, display, sensor (if necessary), BMS (if necessary)
The idea is to replace the original controller for a universal controller and a new display (to avoid communication problems).
If possible I would like to keep the original PAS sensor and Battery. If the battery BMS has special software that prevents it from working with other controllers, then I can replace the BMS for a new one.
Also I would like to keep the original motor, if hall sensors are broken then we can use a sensorless controller.

I have a basic understand about all the electronic components and looking for a solution I came across this forum. Some of you have an incredible deep understanding of all the electronics and I am amazed by the topics discussed.
I am hoping you can help me to find suitable electronics for the job and answer some of the qestions I have, like:
-Is it possible to have a universal controller that works with all different motor types? (direct drive, geared hub, mid drive)
-Is it possible to have sine wave universal controllers, or do they need to be square wave?