Designed a first version of my flip flop hub drive

eTim

1 mW
...and I've never done anything like this before, so I would love to get some feedback! About a month ago I started seriously working on my ebike project that I've had the idea for since I first got my flip flop hub bike. Basically, and I'm sure it's been done before, is to use the unused sprocket on the left side of the hub to power my bicycle. I specifically want to make everything myself, because that's the challenge and the fun of it. Let's get on to my idea for the drive.

4sue8Jr.png

This is the current version 1.0. In the image the motor is mounted on the right and the reduction shaft is on the left, driven by a large gear wheel. (I'm sure this is not entirely to scale, but I did make the frame tube the same diameter and tried to line it up as best I can)
It would be a belt driven system from the motor to the trough shaft, and from there chain drive to the rear sprocket. Currently I'm planning on a 6:1 ratio on the belt drive and a 42 tooth rear sprocket, with easily swapped sprockets on the trough shaft :wink: So a lot like the recumpence drive, I guess, but then self made.

CPIeZe8.png

Some context: the motor is blue, it's shaft is red, the yellow plates are, well, plates, the red tube is the bycicle frame tube, the green wheels are the gear wheels, the grey U shape is the trough shaft mount, this would house bearings to hold the trough shaft of the reduction drive and finally the black tubes are temporarily there to show screw positions and how far they go into the material.

In this image here you can see the motor with it's shaft position in the mount, and the pulleys which are a bit transparent.
I tried to make multiple parts to keep cost down, the yellow plates could be laser cut, leaving only the tube mounts and trough shaft mount to be CNC'd, plus it leaves more adjustability.

pNDzUyp.png