• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

Required battery

Hi I’ve made a few posts related to my e dirt bike build I’m working on, but this is my first build. I am using a 72v 10000w motor(specs attached) and I was wondering how many amps were required to run it. I’m looking at a 72v lifepo4 40ah 100amp continuous discharge battery and possibly putting 2-3 in parallel. I understand that 10000/72 is 138.9amps, but I’m worried about the peak phase amps being 750a. What would the minimum spec battery be to run a setup like this for around 2 hours at a time?
My boss thinks I should use 12v 12000mah lipos in 6s Xp.

Attachments

• IMG_0381.png
    IMG_0381.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 7
The peak power of your motor is 20KW. This is all that actually matters.

You need a battery capable of delivering at least 20KW. That would be something like 270Amps from the battery at 72V.
So, in my opinion, you will need your battery to be able to deliver at the very least 300Amps peak, since the battery must always be the most powerful component of any build.

Your boss suggestion is unfortunately probably not the best. I wouldn't do that. Lipos are dangerous if not very closely managed, plus 12Ah of capacity is very low so you won't have much range unless you parallel 2 or 3 of them, but then it's even harder to monitor. Also they have a very short lifespan, expect to replace the pack every year or two years. Sure they are the best if we're only talking about raw power, but they have just too much drawbacks.

I think that some pictures of your frame might be in order, all will depend on what space you have available.