• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

Need advice on new setup.

Ok, I am pretty new to ES, so I will try and keep this simple.

I am 37, live in the sunny Okanagan of BC, Canada. It is kind of a hilly area and I want to ride my bike for my short trips around town. What I need it something that can climb hills and cruise on the flat. I am 6'1" and weigh around 255lbs. (big guy)

My first bike attempt was my full suspension SuperCycle from Canadian Tire. I bought a 500w front hub kit that came with everything in a box. It worked pretty good, but the way it was packaged and setup, the controller was inside the battery bag and overheated and burned out. they replaced it once, same thing happened again. So I decided to try this dual geared motor thing off of eBay that attaches to your front crank via a chain. It is sold as 900watt 48volt, and is supposed to be amazing because you can "use your gears" this sounded good to me, but it is tough to get all the things to line up well, because the motors mount to an aluminum plate that flexes under stress and causes the chain to slip. /sigh

So, back to the drawing board with my 20" folding bike. I love this little bike, so I thought what this thing needs is some electrics. :) I bought a 1000w rear hub motor kit mounted in a 20" rim. This thing gave me nothing but trouble from day one, never worked. http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=40779 Here is my post on that debacle.

So here is my question. What should I be looking at for something that has the POWER to do what I want? I have a good strong battery pack already that I switch between my two bikes right now, it is 48V 15ah Lifepo4 or whatever that is. cost me a bundle.

I thought that getting a 1000w, and mounting it in a smaller rim would make it stronger, but it really isn't that strong, although it goes pretty fast. read link above on the problems tho.