Building an Ebike but need help

DerekG

100 W
First off let me introduce myself...

I'm a university student going to a large university in the USA.

I'm in decent shape (6' 165lb) and love to ride without any assist, however, there have been a few times when I really needed that extra boost. I regularly have to climb a 10-15% incline for about .4 of a mile which I can do fine, however, going to class after it all sweaty is no fun (especially if I have to give a presentation)

I'm riding an old Huffy 26" frame from the 80's which shows little/no wear and is very stable (all steel... praise the old bikes). No suspension is a negative in terms of comfort but good for a front system, and I bought a new seat to compensate

Anyways, I need help selecting a motor/battery combination.

I talked to the local bike shop and they told me there are no regulations here regarding electric assist as long as it is battery powered and the bike is registered. (guess federal guidelines are what I will follow then)

Here is the bad... the bike needs to sit outside which means exposure to rain/cold weather/etc is unavoidable.

I want a system where I can carry the battery pack/controller to inside with me (in a bag) so it doesn't have to sit in bad weather/ charge it at room temperature

A top speed of 25mph is good b/c I wouldn't feel confident going faster than that on this frame anyways plus then I can keep up with traffic if I need to.

I never thought I would be able to afford this, however, a stretch of good luck brought with it an extra $900 or so I can spend on this...so that is the limit

I was looking at a 15aH 48volt pack by Juiced Riders although the longest I will ever need to go (with pedal assist the whole time) is maybe 20 miles or so... is this pack overkill?

As far as the hub motor/controller I was not really sure. I would like something powerful enough to take me up the hill/ help me out, but not so expensive, as it will need to sit out in bad weather :-(